

Draft Meeting Minutes

Present			
Algonquin College	Alanna McDonell	Fleming College	Grant Meadwell
Collège Boréal	Denise Piovesan	Lambton College	Dave Gotts
Cambrian College	Robert Bentzen	Loyalist College (Treasurer)	Rick Helman
Canadore College (Secretary)	Mary Lou Rainville	Loyalist College	Dan Holland
Centennial College	Alan Hare	Loyalist College (Past President)	Jim Whiteway
Confederation College (Vice President)	Sheryl Furlonger	Mohawk College	John Guilfoyle
Durham College	Judy Spring	Niagara College	Neil Chartrand
Fanshawe College (President)	Chris Fliesser	St. Lawrence College	Don Young
Fanshawe College	Donna Gates	Seneca College	Wanda Forsythe
Georgian College	Heather Ummels	Sheridan College	Susan Atkinson
Regrets			
Canadore College	Darrin Caron	La Cité collégiale	Chantal Thiboutot
Confederation College	Rick Moore	Northern College	Judy Rantala
George Brown College	Wayne Poirier	St. Clair College	Jamie Wilson
Humber College	Nancy Rodrigues	Sault College	Rick Wing
Resource:			
OCASA (Executive Director)	Diane Posterski	OCASA/College Administrator	Bill Swan



Draft Meeting Minutes

	Draft Meeting Minutes				
Agenda Item #	Discussion Notes	Action			
1.	Chair: Chris Fliesser, President Call to Order/Introductions				
	Chris Fliesser welcomed everyone to the Board meeting. All board members in attendance introduced themselves. Visiting OCASA members in attendance were noted (no voting privilege):				
	Bob Eichvald (George Brown, incoming board member) Rob Kardas (Lambton, incoming board member) Jerry Chomyn (Humber, in Nancy Rodrigues' place) Wayne McIntyre (Algonqin)				
2.	Approval of the Agenda				
	Motion: That the agenda be approved as circulated/ amended. Moved: Dan Holland Seconded: Sheryl Furlonger Carried				
3.	Approval of the Meeting Minutes of Friday, May 21, 2010 (Teleconference meeting) Motion: That the Minutes of the Friday, May 21, 2010 Board of Directors meeting be approved as circulated. Moved: Don Young Seconded: Judy Spring Carried	Approved meeting minutes will be posted on the website.			
4.	Strategic Planning Time:				
	Planning packages were reviewed in table groups, reporting in after each section of discussion. Full-consolidated notes from that planning time are found in Appendix 1.				
5.	Strategic Plan Recommendations to 2013 A list of recommendations was gathered, for the new Board of Directors to consider at their first meeting. See Appendix 1 for those notes.	Diane/Chris will put this on the agenda and bring list forward.			



Draft Meeting Minutes

	Draft Meeting Minutes	
6.	Reports: President's Report (ACC): Chris Fliesser noted that the Strategic Planning working document already covered the work of the executive to date and was sufficient for reporting purposes. Motion to receive the Presidents' Report Moved: Grant Meadwell Seconded: Alan Hare Carried	
	Treasurer's Report: Rick Helman reviewed the 2009 Audited Financial Statements (Appendix 2), noting the modest surplus. There being no discussion: Motion to receive the Treasurer's Report: Moved: Sheryl Furlonger Seconded: Dave Gotts Carried	
	Rick Helman reviewed the Draft Revised 2010 Budget (Appendix 3). There being no discussion: Motion to approve the Revised 2010 Budget Moved: John Guilfoyle Seconded: Alanna McDonnell Carried	
7.	Administration: Discussion of the fall meeting was deferred to the next board meeting. Diane Posterski invited all board members to submit their travel expenses.	
8.	Don Sinclair, Executive Director, College Employer Council Don Sinclair reviewed the new Governance Structure for the College Employer Council (Appendix 4). Some discussion followed.	
9.	Adjournment until the next meeting following the AGM to appoint officers. Motion to adjourn. Moved: Rick Helman Seconded: Dan Holland Carried	Chris Fliesser



Draft Meeting Minutes

Part 2 (Following AGM)

1. Appointment of officers

Resolved that the following be and they are hereby appointed officers of the Corporation to hold such offices at the pleasure of the Board, to perform such duties as are prescribed by the bylaws of the Corporation and to perform such duties as many from time to time be required of them:

President: Chris Fliesser

Vice President: Sheryl Furlonger Secretary: Mary Lou Rainville

Treasurer: Rick Helman

Moved: Alan Hare

Seconded: Bob Eichvald

Carried

This resolution will be signed by all board members and will be included in the Minutes book.

2. Motion to adjourn

MOTION: That the meeting be adjourned.

Moved: Rick Helman Seconded: Robert Bentzen

Carried